King Karl Cedes Crown: Pete’s Track Sprint 2013


Early expectations of fast times were proving to be accurate with Dru Berryman blitzing the course to take the junior section in 9.40, ahead of Lachlan Gibson with 10.05 and Mitchell Rowley with 10.15. Dru’s second run was also worthy of note as he had a mechanical problem which forced him to run with his bike for the last 500 metres and still recorded a sub 10 minute time.

In the ladies section, Kirstin Curtis came from the bleachers after round one of riding to record a dominant win with a second round time of 10.48. Second place went to Jacinta Nelsson with a time of 11.59, ahead of Samantha Loughran-ca with a time of 12.51. The Gippsland mountain bike club’s junior and ladies categories are growing in number and the exuberance of the riders on the track was matched by the enthusiasm and high spirits of riders after their runs.

As mentioned earlier, the men’s title was taken by Dan Macmunn with a record time of 8.49 ahead of Karl Peel with 9.22, just shading Adam Wiggins with 9.23. Including Dan’s sub 8 minute time, in all fourteen riders managed to go under the coveted 10.00 minute mark, with a combination of ideal conditions and many hours of hard work put in by volunteers providing a super quick track for competing riders.

Footnote; Men’s winner Dan Macmunn was last seen heading up Mt. Hedrick with Karl Peel muttering something about intruders taking over his turf. Also, someone seems to have stumbled over a strange looking, bike parts concoction on the lower slopes of Mt. Hedrick. Karl returned confident of success in next years Pete’s Track classic.